Thought UK vs England vs Commonwealth vs Crown is hard to understand? Try The Netherlands vs Holland

CGP Grey follows the path of strange geopolitical boundaries and uncovers the mystery of The Netherlands, which is not the same as Holland, which is not the same as The Kingdom of The Netherlands, which is not the same as The Dutch Caribbean.

To summarize: 6 Caribbean islands, 4 countries, 12 provinces, 2 Hollands, 2 Netherlands and one Kingdom. And they all speak dutch. Phew!

The Netherlands has ruled once the East Coast (US) and named it The New Netherland, with today’s NY named to New Amsterdam. New Zealand was named after Zealand, an area from East Coast and Australia was formerly known as New Holland.

Isn’t this crazy? Well, not. When you build an empire then you may give all kind of names to your provinces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.